The Unrepentant Flâneur’s Guide to Street Photography Part 12

Our Nature to be Curious

Our Nature to be Curious

The Parting Shot

Well, at the start of 2012 I set out to make this series of 12 posts on street photography and all of its related genres. I wanted to create an opportunity to investigate and discuss them exactly how I always wished someone would. This is especially true for the controversial aspects of this art; the parts that make people, like me, uncomfortable, unsure of how to react, how to proceed, if we should proceed or where to turn. I also got to go and take readers for trips into the minds of street photographers because that’s where all art originates from; our minds. This was a chance to rethink my, and perhaps others, approach to contemporary SP. The guide is now complete. This is the postface.

Doing this series has been both a tremendous pleasure and a vital education for me. It caused me to reevaluate my largest SP project, see the potential it has, and become motivated to breathe new life into it. It is now an interactive photo blog. You can watch that project grow here:

Hammer Home

I’ll let the About, Project Themes and Project Outline pages explain things for the project overall. I do hope that you’ll follow the project, and see the direction that a good chunk of my street photography and flâneurism has taken. I’ve never heard of Hamilton being explored and illustrated in this ambassadorial way so I hope that you’ll find this to be a street photography project unlike any other, a most unique collection of photographs, an adventure into discovering places and people you may not know, a meaningful experience, and I hope that you’ll keep coming back to that blogs as well as this one.

The Last of the Backyard Mechanics

The Last of the Backyard Mechanics

Given the attention that the guide has attracted, I’m considering either linking the blogrolls of the new sites to the posts of this guide or simply re-posting them directly into the new blogs. We’ll see what happens with that.

Sure, I’ll still be willing to talk about street photography but this way, I’ll be more focused on discussing the inspiration, situation and opportunity behind specific photographs, and using the imagery to explore the potential for the city and share ideas between Hamilton and other communities anywhere in the world.

At least the Illustrated City project will continue on this blog for quite some time to come.

I have also been doing some SP in Toronto; a project in its infancy. I’m not yet ready to display the little that I’ve done so far.

I do hope that this series has been, and will continue to be as entertaining and informative for others as it has been for me. That has been the stated intent all along. This guide costs the reader nothing. All that anyone has to do is show up, read and see if they can get any use out of it.

Whether it’s in the performance arts, literary arts or visual arts, I think it’s important for artists to create projects for themselves. It’s also like reinventing oneself which is also necessary from time-to-time. As always, I’m looking out for new work by other artists.

If you have a street photography, urban photography, homeless photography or rural photography project, feel free to post a brief description with a link, exhibition schedule or whatever below.

People Watcher

People Watcher

A heartfelt thank you goes out to all of the readers who clicked the like button and left comments. My appreciation is also extended to all of the other visitors who were tracked statistically. You are all responsible for the popularity this series has managed to acquire.

You are the best!

As usual, all comment sections will remain open.

Now I must roll the credits on all the amazing photographers who contributed to this series. Here they are in first name alphabetical order:

Aaron Offord
Agellos
Anton Brookes
BC Lorio
Cwithe
Federico Buchbinder
Gilbert Duclos
Kevin Valencourt
Markus Hartel
Tee Cee
Zenlibra

Of course, you can find your way to them anytime through my blogroll.

When Evening Falls

When Evening Falls

Here now are links to all of the posts that make up The Unrepentant Flâneur’s Guide to Street Photography:

Part 1 Introduction to Street Photography and Flâneurism
Part 2 The Difference Between Urban and Street Photography and What to Shoot For
Part 3 Rural Photography
Part 4 Is Street Photography Art?
Part 5 Park The Car
Part 6 The Undiscovered Country
Part 7 The Curious Case of Homeless Photography
Part 8 Avoiding Clichés
Part 9 Street Photography and the Law
Part 10 The Snapshot and the Street Photograph
Part 11 Adding a Personal Touch through Thematic Photography

Off We Go

Off We Go

Finally, I must say thanks to UK street photographer Michael Wayne Plant who has showcased the entire guide, link-by-link on his group’s blog Street Photography Workshops. It is another great way to find this guide.

Founded in August of 2012, SPW overall is a fantastic online resource for new and experienced contemporary street photographers with its impressive aesthetic layout, easy flow of use, straightforwardness of content and effort to reach out globally; it only makes sense using the Worldwide Web. You can also find the SPW through my blogroll under the Photography subcategory. I very much appreciate Michael’s group taking an interest in this guide and linking it to their site.

I wish everyone the very best in your street photography pursuits.

“Chance is always there. A poor photographer meets chance one out of a hundred times and a good photographer meets chance all the time.”

—George Brassaï (Gyula Halász); photojournalist, film documentarian
and an inadvertent pioneer of street photography.

“The decisive moment, it is the simultaneous recognition, in a fraction of a second, of the significance of an event as well as the precise organization of forms which gives that event its proper expression . . . In photography, the smallest thing can be a great subject. The little human detail can become a leitmotif.”

—Henri Cartier-Bresson, the father of modern photojournalism, developer
of street photography (“real life reportage”), and cofounder of the
Magnum Photos agency.

15 thoughts on “The Unrepentant Flâneur’s Guide to Street Photography Part 12

  1. Allan this has been a fantastic series that I always have looked forward to so much! I can’t wait to see the results of your new projects. I have myself been working on a long term project for 2 years now (although I have only told one person until you). We definitely need to meet up to shoot and have some coffees

  2. You’ve given us much to see, to feel, to wonder, and ultimately, to understand. Thanks for the series. Love to have followed it. And whoa! You put a lot into this!!!!!!!! I was looking at your Lower Hamilton link and it dates way back when. I’m thoroughly impressed on your works. Unbelievable, incredible!

    • Thanks. It used to be known as the “Steeltown Neighbourhoods Project” but it has evolved considerably. The focus is more refined. I hope that you’ll follow Hammer Home and find it a unique adventure.

  3. Thank you Allan for all the great work you have put into this series. SP is such a solitary pursuit – and I say that in a positive way which sounds like a contradiction given that the SP is indeed a part of the street, and to find such discussion, dialogue and passion here in your work is something I always look forward to. Not forgetting all your great shots!

    • I appreciate that so much, Patti. I really enjoy your photojournalism too.

      Some people like to watch “reality TV” shows. I like to photograph reality in creative ways, and see such work from other creative people.

      As an illustrator, I never thought that I would end up so consumed by street photography and it’s social potential but there it is. I just hope that I can help others become positively impacted with this art genre, as others have helped me to make that connection.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 556 other followers

