Weekly Photo Challenge: “My 2012 in Pictures”

2012 MOF in Review

I hope that everyone had a fantastic Christmas, and is looking forward to a most auspicious new year. As I step off on this new adventure, I take some time to ponder just what WordPress has cooked up to help inspire me.

Ah yes! “The Year in Review”; these are often interesting in the media, if not controversial. MacClean’s Magazine, Time, etcetera, etcetera. They all have their say and many onlookers often express their own heartfelt opinions as to if the world’s news agencies got it right. Now WordPress is encouraging bloggers to reflect on their own abilities to make an impact on the minds of readers.

Alright then, let’s have a look.

Everything's Waiting for You

Everything’s Waiting for You

I feel very lucky that there are still people who take an interest in this evening skyline shot. I also prepared a B/W version for a phase of my largest street photography project.

Stricken

Stricken

From probably my most visited post of the entire year, this image made quite an impact with others as it did me while I made it.

Arrested Attention

Arrested Attention

It was such a beautiful life affirming moment that I got to capture here.

Keeping Pace

Keeping Pace

Rhythms can be a profound element of street photography but they aren’t easy to find or capture well. I feel most fortunate when I come across them.

Stairway to Escher

Stairway to Escher

Finding this stairwell with this beautiful light contrast was definitely one of my greatest urban photography finds. I’m so glad that the photo became a bit of a hit with MOF readers.

Linc on the Town I

Linc on the Town I

The Hammer Home Street Photography Project is a re-genesis of what I used to call Steeltown Neighbourhoods. This small photo essay from the Lower Hamilton phase is a favourite of mine not so much because of the photos in it but because of the overall subject matter.

 

One Look

One Look

“One Look” did not come off as very popular with MOF readers but it’s definitely one of my personal favourites from Hammer Home. Definitely the best street portrait I made all year.

God's Messenger

God’s Messenger

A personal favourite from Hammer Home. Probably like most artists, I thoroughly enjoy it when the opportunity arises to make images of sensitive subject matter. Far more than that, I enjoy it when there’s a moral to the message.

We live in a time in which more people are bored with stories that end in morals, or tend to benefit them in some way.

“Never mind all that!” they say. “Give us the guns, the violence, meaningless sex, debauchery!”

Well, I still appreciate a good moral.

Our Nature to be Curious

Our Nature to be Curious

Similar to “Arrested Attention” in subject matter, this shot is an axiom.

Autumn Glory

Autumn Glory

Life isn’t all black and white. A splash of colour can do wonders. It’s true that I don’t show nearly as much colour photography work as I actually do but I do enjoy making it as much as B/W images.

Old Steel Mill and the Cumulus castellanus

Old Steel Mill and the Cumulus castellanus

I’m very pleased that readers have taken to this picture. Not only because it represents an important aspect of industry, commerce and livelihood that was once the leader in my city but also because industrial centers are rarely depicted in street photography and urban photography. I fully intend to exhibit much more of this kind of imagery in Hammer Home.

Tenderness

Tenderness

Finally, “Tenderness” is from quite a recent entry on the main blog.

Well, those are my picks. What do you think?

36 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: “My 2012 in Pictures”

  1. I am so glad you posted this review Alan as it gave me chance to see some of your treasure I have missed before. I love “the look” :) I wish you many great photos in 2013!

  2. I’ve never been disappointed by any of your posts. Over the course of this year I’ve learned much about photography from observing your. Beautiful selection of photos here. Also looking forward to 2013. Happy New Year.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. You’ve had an amazing year my friend… ;-)
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy New Year to You & Yours!.♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜” Have a restful weekend!
    Eliz

  4. Great review of 2012. When I see your “GOD’S MESSENGER”-photo I can’t help to think: “If God really exists, why can’t he be his own messenger?” I seriously doubt that he needs help from poster boys…

  5. You know how I felt and what I think about your images, Allan. Glad to have followed your blog regularly. There are some I missed, and I still get jaw-dropping-ly amazed seeing those for the first time. Thank You and will look forward much more this year for The MOF Man. :D

  6. Thank you. It is a personal favourite. The owners recently had everything of that mill you see razed to the earth. I feel fortunate to have made such a record of that place while I had the chance.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 600 other followers

