Guerrillartist

Vibrance

Many moons ago I spent all my money on the old commercial arts program at Mohawk College. Back then, while many schools like Sheridan were pushing the use of computers, as it was steadily on the rise, Mohawk was still emphasizing the traditions of hand produced graphics.

The business part of the course was alright. It focused on applying existing business systems and models to the arts but it failed to show the class how to really market art. That’s not Mohawk’s fault by the way. All art schools worldwide are still well-known to be severely lacking in their ability to teach this fundamental necessity for visual artists.

There are just too many variables. You can’t systematically predict what art people are going to like, dislike, invest and not invest in. Promoting the visual arts is about trial and error, and sometimes an artist has to get a little guerrilla. The development of MOF’s Flying Low Art Sale is exemplary of these realities.

Flying Low is the Artist Run Initiative that I referred to in a post at the beginning of the year. I started work on this visual art marketing project because I strongly believe that artists need to find, create and take advantage of every opportunity possible to advance themselves and the commercial arts.

I have to apologize to some of you readers around the world because participation in this initiative is targeted at artists in and around the city of Hamilton, Ontario.

In this blog; nevertheless, I’m going to be open to discussing the facets and opinions of visual art business with anyone, anywhere. I aim to include the genesis of Flying Low, and periodic updates on its successes and failures. Some of what I’ll explore will be based on personal experience. Think of it as being akin to a reality TV series in a blog.

For those; anywhere in the world, who prefer straightforward, stereotypical business doctrine, I will send them a free pdf of the “Flying Low Art Sale Marketing Plan”, provided they write “Requesting the FLASMP” in the subject fields of their e-mails.

Who knows, maybe I’ll be able to convince other artists to go a little guerrilla.

4 thoughts on “Guerrillartist

  1. I’m just now getting into marketing my books, and it’s all touch and feel to date. With the delay in royalty reports, it is even worse, because I can’t tell if my efforts are paying off or not, yet. I wish you the best of luck (even though a little overdue) in getting your work marketed. I love this photo. You did an excellent job on color and balance.

    • The first Flying Low is scheduled for May 26. Getting ready for it is quite time consuming and it is hard to convince locals to get involved. This was all predicted fortunately so I know what I have to do to keep driving this initiative. Fortunately, rising to the challenge is part of the thrill.

      Thank you, and good luck to you too, Marcy.

Leave a Reply

