Weekly Photo Challenge: “Hands”

Well Can You Put Your Hands In Your Head?

It’s interesting that this is the challenge for the week because from time-to-time I think about my hands.

Not all of my art is photography or digital illustration. I paint and draw; been at it from the cradle, so I depend on my hands considerably.

I don’t know what I’d do without my hands at this stage of my life or at any stage. Could I learn to adapt with my mouth or feet as some have? Perhaps but I’d honestly rather not.

I love to write too, especially science fiction. Modern technology would help me out there so long as I could afford it; there are amputees all over this world who can’t.

I’ve often told people that I don’t plan to ever retire from making visual art. The only ways that I’ll stop is if my physical or mental health deteriorates to the point that I am unable to continue or I am dead. So, I make it a conscious effort to not take my hands for granted.

I’m thankful to God for my hands, as much as I am thankful for all of my senses and the ability to focus and utilize my ideas and dreams in creative and productive ways.

10 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: “Hands”

  1. This is a great interpretation! I often think about losing the use of my legs due nerve damage but I agree with you about the hands. I also sketch and I would hate to know that I can’t sketch or contine photographing what inspires me.

    Thanks for sharing this post. It was a wonderful read.

  2. Excellent take on this week’s challenge. Hands expressing emotions – boredom and maybe lost in thought. I love your thoughts on hands too!

  3. Very well said. Thanks for sharing! Your picture, as well as your accompanying thought is very inspiring. I agree that we have to be thankful for the gift of our hands – and so as our feet, eyes, and every part of our body🙂

Leave a Reply

