Weekly Post Challenge: “Unique”

Sleepy European Hare Leverets

Sleepy European Hare Leverets

It’s been roughly a month since I’ve posted anything on this site. I’m knee-deep in some art projects and other semi-related personal matters, and it’s hard to break away from them. I have been able to squeeze in a few visits to the other many blogs that I follow. In any case, I guess it’s time for me to put a little something here again. I’m answering the call of WordPress’ latest shoot challenge.

This was quite a find, and a monumental challenge to photograph without being a colossal disturbance. I had shot adult European hares before but never leverets. These little ones; 6 of them and each no bigger than 2 inches (6cm) long, slept together beneath my brother in-law’s utility trailer that was parked in his backyard.

8 thoughts on “Weekly Post Challenge: “Unique”

  1. Two inches?! I can’t even imagine not stuffing those little critters in my pockets and taking them home! How do you walk away from such cuteness?
    Good luck with yoru projects, etc. Good ‘seeing’ you again.🙂

    • The adults get pretty big; getting up to approximately 30cm (1ft) long. They are the largest of the hares and rabbits in these parts.

      The European brown hare and a 8 other feral animals were brought to a farm between Brantford and Cambridge, Ontario in 1912 by a German farmer. The hares escaped and successfully colonized the lands right around Lake Ontario by the 50’s.

  2. Cool! They got comfortable enough to be sleeping there. Unique indeed! I never heard of leverets. Maybe, I had just not paying attention. I’m sure I’ll remember them now because of your photo.

Leave a Reply

