Street Photography Project Metamorphosis

Sunshine on a Cloudy Day

Sunshine on a Cloudy Day

Just a short note to say that I have just completed some grand changes to my leading street photography project, Hammer Home.

In assessing the scope of this project, when I began to present it through photo blogging, and the potential volume of work to be produced as time goes by; once I had lifted my own previously held restrictions on the number of photos to be made, I considered that the project required being spread across three separate blogs. There was to be one for Lower Hamilton, one for Hamilton Mountain and one for Rural Hamilton.

In spreading the project over three blogs, I did suspect that there would be less popularity with the depictions of life above the Niagara Escarpment; what Hamiltonians refer to as “the mountain”, in comparison to that of below the escarpment. As much as many citizens criticize the conditions and residents of Lower Hamilton, I continue to hear people from both areas also say that the suburban escarpment is “boring”. That said I expected even less interest in the goings on and images of rural living.

So, what have I done? In response to the closely observed attention given by you followers  – from around the world, of the entire project, I have merged all three blogs into one. Gone are Hammer Home – Hamilton Mountain, Hammer Home – Rural Hamilton and Hammer Home – Lower Hamilton has simply been transformed into Hammer Home and given a new address.

All of the posts that were published to the Mountain and Rural sites will be reposted among all of the images and stories of Lower Hamilton, and there will be more to come.

Thank you all for following the growth of this project. I hope that you will continue to do so. Time will tell just how much more it will evolve.

4 thoughts on “Street Photography Project Metamorphosis

  1. I think it’s a wise decision to merge the three blogs into one. Myself for one was a little bit confused about the former state of blogs. I look forward to follow your “new” blog. Great images following this post by the way.

  2. The project is getting far more attention from viewers outside of Hamilton, seemingly outside of Canada, so they apparently don’t understand the concept of the separate blogs in relation to the three distinc geographies of the city that have a profound impact on how the citizens view one another. I think it’s something that would be more recognizeable to Hamiltonians.

    It already seems to better for non-residents to see the areas merged into one blog.

    Thank you so much for following along.

    • Thank you so much for noticing.

      I do tend to get pretty involved with my projects. I have a sci-fi and fantasy art project that is very heavily structured to make a believable universe. By comparison, Hammer Home is a cake-walk.

      Hammer Home is; nevertheless, a photography project that I hope will have an impact on anyone anywhere while having its gratest resonance with the citizens of Hamilton. If that’s to happen, then I expect it will take years for that impact to take effect. So, this interactive project has to be a thoroughly planned and structured life project.

Leave a Reply

