B&W Photo Challenge: “People” – TheMOFMan’s 5th Post

B&W Street Photography Modes of Flight Hammer Home

Cadets

Once more into the breech! I fire off the fifth and final shot in my answering the call from Ks3nia of Moments to post black and white photography for five consecutive days.

Not too many have seen this picture before now. I hope that I can eventually do some real good with it.

After the October 20 and 22, 2014 terrorist slayings of Warrant Officer Patrice Vincent and Corporal Nathan Cirillo, this photograph has an extra special meaning to me.

Those men were someone’s children brought into a world that they didn’t create but had to face with the determination to make whatever good of it they could.

Today I nominate Stephen Cosh Street Photography to carry on this non-challenge. I’m not sure if he will but I hope that he does because his work is most impressive.

All of my other nominees have been:

Otto von Münchow of In Flow; and

Paulo Cesar Silva of COTTIDIANUS;

f1.8. and

André Diogo Pereira of Life in a Photograph

I hope that you take time to click the bold type and check out everyone’s photography blogs.

Stephen, if interested, I challenge you to:

1. Post at least one B&W photograph each day for the next five days, each photo meeting the theme of “People” (duotones, tritones and quadtones are acceptable); and

2. Each day, nominate another blogging photographer for this non-challenge.

34 thoughts on “B&W Photo Challenge: “People” – TheMOFMan’s 5th Post

  1. I just like it. The fact that he was in the middle bends down and it becomes almost a secret signal to someone who understands. A call sign which turns into many question marks.

    • Thank you, Joshi. Shooting this was a really profound experience. When they were lining up before me, the scene didn’t even look like it was in our time period. I felt like I had suddenly been transported back to the 1940’s, and the shot came out that way in B/W.

    • I like the innocence about them. They’re so obviously green, in uniform and no doubt very proud but still very unsure of themselves and their circumstances. They sort of have that, “Oooooooh, I don’t know what’s going on!” look but you just know that they’re going to do just fine. I feel honoured looking at them.

    • These are Sea Cadets. My best friend was an Army Cadet, and I think he greatly enjoyed the experience.

      I always wanted to be a pilot, and considered joining the Air Cadets to get my gliders permit by age 18 but I didn’t join. Not everything is free, and we just couldn’t afford it.

  2. I looked into all your B&Ws. Loved the iconic scenes. Even got to meet and appreciate Josko and his life. All these make for a great start for my Saturday.

    I miss being in Ontario. I used to live in Etobicoke, off Royal York near James Garden.

    I’m also a fan of Otto’s work. Also, John Todaro. Thank you for the images.

      • Family. I have more family here. We wanted our daughter to grow up knowing them. Another reason was iur frustration with the medical system. They were tightening up so much.

        If i could do it over again, would i have stayed? Yes. But i could also say, we’d move to SFo too. We grow into a place eventually. We become a part of it as much as it becomes a part of who we become.🙂

        Thanks for asking.

    • Thank you, and thank you for nominating me to participate.

      In my earliest years of photography, I figured that my ambitions would forever mainly lie in landscapes and other creative work. I had no idea that photographing people would become so important to me as I met more strangers and learned about their lives; growing ever more curious about the experiences of others.

Leave a Reply

