Arboretum Virtualis | I

Black and white tree photography

Grounded

I seldom repost pictures on the same blog. This is an exception for the sake of project context. The last time I put this image on MOF, it was part of a trial run of a few tree landscapes (you can click the bold bright text to see the original post). The reaction to this specific piece was positive, not just on MOF but also in my neck of the woods – pardon the pun. So, this image was included in the Arboretum Virtualis.

This landscape is a good example of how I select some of the trees and scenes for the project. If necessary, I will create the visual effects that I want for a portrait but I love it when the natural environment creates conditions that make trees and other visual elements appear in extraordinary ways. Like how the combination of an ice-fog and a thick blanket of snow made this maple and weeping willow (Salix babylonica) seem ethereal.

Beyond that, the trees in this project aren’t exactly sought out and chosen. They usually seem to get my attention instead. I could be somewhere with my camera and a tree; just by its shape, location and condition at a specific time of year may stand out to me from all the others around it as if it had actually said, “Hey, look at me! I’m right here!”

14 thoughts on “Arboretum Virtualis | I

    • Thanks, Cardinal. After a long and bitter winter in my part of the atlas, I think I’m taking huge risk in trying to convey such feelings in a picture. Strangely, I have to be glad that I succeeded.

  1. This is such a beautiful photo. Feels like I’m looking at a bit of a surreal world. Well done, thumbs up. Sometimes if I’m out with my camera, I just feel like the world speaks to me – something will jump out at me, something will catch my attention and I will never look at it in the same way again.

  2. Very nice image, even if it’s a re-post. I can definitely see why it generates the positive reaction it does. Outstanding scene with a moody atmosphere.

Leave a Reply

