TheMOFMan’s Answer to B&W Sunday: Landmark

Black and white BW B&W Hamilton Ontario Canada contemporary urban photography

Delta Block

After spending a few months battling some health concerns, Paula Borkovic is getting back into blogging and has posted a new challenge on her blog Lost in Translation. So, I want to take this opportunity to welcome her back with my contribution to her challenge.

Click the bold white text, and head on over to take on Paula’s challenge too.

The Delta Block is a landmark in the eastern part of my home town of Hamilton. I’ve shot NYC’s Flatiron Building before – the Fuller Building. The Delta Block doesn’t compare but it’s interesting nevertheless.

This wedge shaped landmark indicates the scissor-like intersection of King and Main Streets, and the border between the neighbourhoods of Delta West and Crown Point West. It’s just a shame that it’s so difficult to obtain any history on the edifice.

Every city should have a Flatiron Building.

28 thoughts on “TheMOFMan’s Answer to B&W Sunday: Landmark

  1. This is very interesting to see. We don’t have any flat iron buildings in Croatia. Beautiful long-exposure, Allan. I appreciate your kindness and thoughtful contribution.

  2. Pingback: Black & White Sunday: Landmark | Lost in Translation

    • Thank you, Patti.

      I originally hoped to use the long exposure to get a few more light streaks in, especially along Main Street that you can see on the left. In shooting from an island between Main and King put Main on an awkward angle to my lens, and made those streaks too powerful on the one side of the picture. So, I reduced the exposure time just enough to fill the left side with more darkness and take advantage of the diffraction spikes that are really the result of the positions of the shutter leaves in aperture.

  3. Wonderful night shot of the House. Agree with you, every city should have one of those. I could imagine to live a place like home. I like the different architecture, though I live in an ordinary House.

  4. I didn’t know that’s what it’s called – flatiron building. Thanks for the knowledge. I know it’s asking much but maybe … Every corner should have a flatiron building. Love the panning effect.

    • Whenever I make low light urban landscapes like these, I’m always reminded of the song “Overkill” by Colin Hay and Men at Work; especially the following verses;

      At least there’s pretty lights
      And though there’s little variation
      It nullifies the night from overkill

Leave a Reply

