Arboretum Virtualis | VII

Black and white tree forest landscape photography

Otherworldly

I had never heard of the Amur maple until I started this project. Learning about it, and figuring out how to creatively but simply photograph one inspired considerations that are so typical of me.

In our species’ search for extrasolar worlds, astrobiologists are trying to imagine the many ways and forms in which life could evolve. There’s life as we know it (LAWKI), as astrophysicist Frank Drake has said, and then there’s life that is unrecognizable to us. If we were able to cross the cosmos to one of the extrasolar globes, would we be able to recognize something looking like a rocky cliff in the Grand Canyon as being the life form that it might actually be?

Apart from what we can conceptualize using the scientific knowledge currently available to us, are there trees on other worlds? If so, what might they be like? I am very curious about such things.

If there is intelligent life elsewhere in the universe, advanced enough to have the ability to travel to Earth, and shine a beam of light down upon a tree to examine it, I wonder what they would think of it. Would they recognize it as precious life?

24 thoughts on “Arboretum Virtualis | VII

    • Thank you, Otto. A single strobe from just above the crown. I think I lit it up at 1/2 power; I’ll have to check my notes to be sure.

      I’ve another Amur maple like this in the past. This is the one that I included in the series.

      I have also shot a red Japanese maple this way that is also in this project, and I will post it at a later date.

Leave a Reply

