Weekly Post Challenge: “Curve”

Black and white BW B&W Hamilton Ontario Canada contemporary urban photography landscape

This Way & That Way

This is how I’ve taken to composing city skyline images in recent years. I used to shoot them by positioning my camera from a fair distance and at an average terrain elevation to try and capture virtually everything. Through my learning curve I had to face the reality that pretty much everybody shoots skylines this way. I began to take on a different approach.

I’m still open to doing things the usual way but so that such urban landscapes wouldn’t become too static, I decided to move closer and start shooting smaller sections of cities from various angles, including aerials.

32 thoughts on “Weekly Post Challenge: “Curve”

  1. Pingback: Curve (Young Man River) | What's (in) the picture?

  2. Beautifully done, Allan. Love the trail lights, and they do stand out in this BW composition. No wrong way of shooting anything. With city scapes, sometimes the less you encompass in the shot, the stronger your message is.

    • I love that experience of seeing a city from above while it’s nighttime. One of my favourites was riding a shuttle out of the Holland Tunnel into Northbergen, NJ late one evening, and seeing NYC all lit up in the dark as the vehicle ascended a hill. Absolutely breathtaking!

Leave a Reply

